Mothers Day Cupcake Bouquet

Mothers day was a few weeks ago, and as the only girl in my family the responsibility of doing something for my mom falls to me. I am one of the strange people out there who do not like jewelry or flowers on commercialized holidays or even my birthday, to me it seems like “Well, this is what every woman wants” and not a lot of thought goes into the gift. Case in point I walk into Walmart the Saturday before Mother’s Day and they have a whole aisle of flowers and men buying them right and left. So I decided to make a twist of a flower bouquet. I decided to give my mom a cupcake bouquet. What is better than a pretty presentation and chocolate? Nothing right! So here is how to give the perfect gift to any woman for any holiday or birthday!

Supplies
Cake board
Ingredients for icing
Paint
Paint brushes
Letter Stencils
Cupcakes (store bought or a mix are fine)

Lets start!
Step one: Grab your cake board, I got a regular size one because you need the space for the words and to make your bouquet. This step is so easy a child could really do it. You want to use your letter stencils to trace out your words. Instead of using a pencil to trace the letter and then paint, I just painted in the letters. This honestly becomes slightly messy, so keep wet paper towels handy to wipe the paint off. As you get farther down your stencil might touch other already painted letters, so be careful of that.
IMG_2292

Step 2: while your letters are drying you want to paint on your stems (for your flowers) and a bow. At this point I have no good tips on how to do this effectively, other than just eyeball it. As you can tell mine is not perfect, and honestly if you are giving this to your mom she is not going to care if it is not perfect, it really comes down to the thought and time! So just be creative and do your best!
IMG_2293
Time for the cupcakes!!!
Ok, I was slightly lazy and ran out of time to make my own cupcakes. So I just ran to the store and bought 5 cupcakes. I did not want to make 24 and waste them and didn’t want them all on my board so I compromised. The limit on cupcakes is honestly up to you, so do not feel like it has to be just 5, it can be as many as you want. So grab your supplies!
Supplies:
Cupcakes
Piping bags
Star icing tip
Ingredients for icing

IMG_2294
Step 1: Make your icing! Remember my Icing recipe? Yep, I used it for this project also! My mom loves it and since the present is for her why not use it? I halved the recipe because I only did 5 and still had a lot left over. So lets make our icing!
I honestly wanted my cupcakes to look like flowers so I scrapped off the store bought icing and piped my own. So if you buy them scrape it off.
IMG_2295
Step 2: Once you’ve made your icing you need to make it the color you want, I chose a very pretty pink by using red food coloring. Once you have that mixed up place the icing in your piping bag. BUT WAIT!!!! Before you do that lets put our tips in! Grab those plastic looking thing (aka decorating couplers) and insert the big fat piece into the bag. Get it nice and snug and then clip the end off the bag…Watch this in pictures

IMG_2297

IMG_2298
Screw on the bottom part and your tip. Yes, you have one piece on the inside and one on the outside. Don’t worry, this is how it should be!
IMG_2299
Step 3: NOW it’s time to place the icing in the bag. Here is a trick I learned from my mom. Fold down the top of the bag and then insert the icing. You will have to scrape the spatula and I do this by just pinching the bag against the spatula and pulling out. Repeat until the bag is full. Twist the top so the icing doesn’t spill out when you squeeze.
IMG_2300

IMG_2301
Step 4: Ok, now to make this look pretty. This was my first time trying this techinique, but the more you do it the easier it gets. I did not quite get it to look like a flower, but the image was there. So what you want to do is hold your bag slightly off the cupcake and starting on the outer edge go counterclockwise (toward your body) and slowly start to circle around the cupcake. As you go around slowly work your way inside by slightly layering each rotation on each other. Squeeze easy on your bag with slow pressure. The faster you go the worse it looks.
IMG_2302
Your finished product should look something like this. If this isn’t clear I understand…try looking for some instructional videos, but they will show you the motions but not really explain it. Just remember it doesn’t have to be perfect because it is the thought that counts!
IMG_2303
Step 5: Lets put it all together! Grab your painted board and your cupcakes. Using your leftover icing dab some icing on the bottom of your cupcake. Now place it on one of your stems. This keeps the cupcake from moving.
IMG_2304
Step 6: Once you’ve placed all of your cupcakes on your board your practically done. I looked at my board and decided it needed a little something more so I took the rest of my icing and placed little “flowers” on the board. To do this simply place and squeeze. The closer to your board the fatter the “flower” will be. Don’t be afraid to use different size “flowers” and go crazy until you are satisfied.
IMG_2305
Now that you are done here it what it should look like!
IMG_2306
Amazing isn’t it! My mom loved it! Another added bonus to this project is that I had to dust off some skills she taught me when I was younger, so this was an extra special gift for her! Enjoy and have fun!
~Katie

Leave a Reply

